8th International Colloquium on Grammatical Inference

The University of Electro-Communications,
Chofu, Tokyo 182-8585, JAPAN
September 20(Wednesday) - 22(Friday), 2006

Welcoming reception will be held from 6 p.m. on September 19(Tuesday), 2006.

[SCOPE] [INVITED TALKS] [LOCATION] [PHOTO](NEW) [SUBMISSION OF PAPERS] [ICGI 2006 Program] [REGISTRATION INFORMATION] [HOTEL INFORMATION] [Co-Sponcer] [Support] [Conference Chair] [Programme Committee Co-Chairs] [Programme Committee] [Organising Committee]


ICGI-2006 is the eighth in a series of successful biennial international conferences in the area of grammatical inference.

Grammatical inference has been extensively addressed by researchers in information theory, automata theory, language acquisition, computational linguistics, machine learning, pattern recognition, computational learning theory and neural networks.

ICGI-2006 will be the first conference in this series to be held in Asia. Further, as in the previous ICGI conference, we are planning to hold a grammatical inference competition that will be known as the Tenjinno competition as part of ICGI-2006.



ICGI-2006 will be held in Chofu, Tokyo. The conference will be located in The University of Electro-Communications (UEC) (http://www.uec.ac.jp/eng/). The UEC campus is a ten-minute walk from Chofu Station (http://www.uec.ac.jp/eng/about/visual/directions.html).


Photo Album (NEW)


ICGI 2006 Program

The Reception of ICGI 2006 will be held from 6 p.m. on September 19 at the university restaurant on the 3rd floor of the University Center Building (#22 Building in the campus map). No charge is made for the reception.


The Registration Desk will be open throughout the conference for information and general assistance. The registration desk will be located at the site of the Reception from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. on September 19. From September 20, the registration desk will be located on the 3rd floor of Communication Park Building (#21 Building in the campus map) where the conference is held.

Note: Please kindly prepare Japanese currency when you come to the Registration Desk. We do not have a preparation for the payment by credit cards or bank transfer.


Registration Type Normal Student
Early 33,000Yen 17,000Yen
Late 40,000Yen 23,000Yen

Please, print, fill in and sign the registration form. Then fax the form to: +81-42-443-5315.

Early registration is effective when the registration form is received by the ICGI 2006 Secretariat by August 31, 2006. (Extended)


  1. At least one author (including student author) of each accepted paper must complete the registration before August 20, 2006. Without the registration, papers might be excluded from a list of accepted papers.
  2. The PASCAL European Network of Excellence (IST-2002-506778) can provide travel grants to PASCAL affiliated authors. Please contact Colin de la Higuera for further information.
  3. Those Students who are concerning to New Horizons in Computing (NHC) (Scientific Research on Priority Areas, supported by MEXT, Japan) can register as NHC Students until August 31.


ICGI 2006 is Co-Sponcered by:

uec-logo pascal-logo inoue-logo

ICGI 2006 is Supported by:

Conference Chair

Etsuji Tomita, University of Electro-Communications, Japan

Programme Committee Co-Chairs

Yasubumi Sakakibara, Keio University, Japan
Satoshi Kobayashi, University of Electro-Communications, Japan

Programme Committee

Naoki Abe, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown, USA
Pieter Adriaans, Perot Systems Corporation/University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Dana Angluin, Yale University, USA
Hiroki Arimura, Hokkaido University, Japan
Mitra Basu, City University of New York, USA
Franois Coste, Symbiose, INRIA/IRISA, France
Pierre Dupont, University of Louvain, Belgium
Henning Fernau, University of Hertfordshire, UK
Colin de la Higuera, EURISE, Univ. de St. Etienne, France
Vasant Honavar, Iowa State University, USA
Chih-Jen Lin, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Laurent Miclet, ENSSAT, Lannion, France
Gopalakrishnaswamy Nagaraja, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India
Katsuhiko Nakamura, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
Jacques Nicolas, IRISA, France
Tim Oates, University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA
Arlindo Oliveira, Lisbon Technical University, Portugal
Jose Oncina Carratala, Universidade de Alicante, Spain
Georgios Paliouras, Inst. of Informatics and Telecommunications, NCSR , Greece
Rajesh Parekh, Yahoo!, USA
Kengo Sato, Keio University, Japan
Giora Slutzki, Iowa State University, USA
Bradford Starkie, Telstra Research Laboratories, Australia
Eiji Takimoto, Tohoku University, Japan
Menno van Zaanen, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Netherlands
Enrique Vidal, Universidade Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Osamu Watanabe, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Thomas Zeugmann, Hokkaido University, Japan

Organising Committee

Tetsuro Nishino, University of Electro-Communications, Japan (Chair)
Colin de la Higuera, EURISE, Univ. de St. Etienne, France
Kazuhiro Hotta, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Satoshi Kobayashi, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Yoichi Motomura, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan
Katsuhiko Nakamura, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
Seiya Okubo, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Yasuhiro Tajima, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan
Haruhisa Takahashi, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Jun Tarui, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Mitsuo Wakatsuki, University of Electro-Communications, Japan

See you in Tokyo in September 2006!!